And the winner is…

The gala event was attended by more than 500 luminaries from the technology sector, who gathered to celebrate another year of innovation and commercial success at home and abroad.

Eoin O’Driscoll received a lifetime achievement award for his contribution to the technology sector as entrepreneur, thought leader and advocate.

Also recognised on the night were Tom O’Leary of ICON for CIO of the year, and Apis Project’s Fiona Edwards Murphy claimed the rising star award.

CMS Distribution was named IT company of the year.

Finally, the Hibernia award for contribution to the Irish tech sector by a multinational went to Analog Devices.

The Awards were adjudicated by industry experts Eoin O’Driscoll (Tyndall National Institute), Dr Jim Mountjoy (Science Foundation Ireland), Peter McManamon (Atlantic Bridge), Dr Seán Baker (Lero), Louise Nichols (Brown Bag Films), Tom O’Sullivan (Irish Computer Society) and Aisling Cunningham (Ervia).

Newest member of the Judging panel, Eriva CIO Ashling Cunningham, said: “The range, diversity and deep technical know-how was so encouraging as was the huge standard in both company and individual entries. It has been a pleasure to have joined the Judging panel and witnessed first hand the dynamic nature of our ever maturing industry.”

Billy Huggard, operations director of Tech Excellence Awards organiser, Mediateam, said: “The quality and number of entries have raised the benchmark yet again. The evidence of best business practice with deep technical know-how was abundant in the entries this year.”

Full list of winners available here

MC Sarah McInerney

Sarah McInerney is a broadcaster and journalist with extensive experience in print, radio and television. She is presenter of The Late Debate on RTERadio One, The Sunday Show on TV3, and is a regular columnist for The Sunday Times.

Previously, Sarah presented Newstalk Drive, which won IMRO Current Affairs Show of the Year in 2017. Sarah was also awarded IMRO News Broadcaster of the Year 2017. Before moving to broadcast, Sarah was Political Correspondent with The Sunday Times for eight years, having previously worked as news reporter in The Sunday Tribune.



Winner 2018: IT Professional Team of the Year
HSE/HBS/eHealth Ireland

Presented by George Ryan, FIT ICT Associate Professional

Winner 2018: CIO of the Year
Tom O’Leary, CIO at ICON.

Presented by Paul Rellis, Viatel

Winner 2018: Distributor of the Year
Data Solutions

Presented by Orlagh O’Connor, GRENKE Leasing

Some photos from the night

Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background